Audio Story: Final

For my audio story, I decided to interview my mom, dad and my best friend Lindsay. All three interviews tell a slightly different story about me and my determination to succeed with the example of when I played volleyball in high school. I interviewed my parents together before we left for spring break and I was able to interview Lindsay after spring break. I decided to include an introduction and conclusion clip at the beginning and end of my audio story. I also chose to include clips of myself introducing the next person who would be talking in the audio story.

I took the skills that we learned from completing the Audition tutorials and put them to use in the execution of my audio story. I mentioned in my previous post that I had a little trouble with Audition when I was editing my audio clips. I continued to have this problem while working on the final version of my audio story. A few too many clicks in too short of a time and the “rainbow wheel of death” would pop up and Audition would force itself to close. I didn’t let this deter me, however, but I now have a total of 9 versions of my audio story since after a significant amount of changes, I would have to export the file as an .mp3 so that I could pick up where I left off the next time I began working on the assignment. Each time I would export the track into an .mp3, however, the little squiggly lines (for lack of a better term) would get smaller and smaller which also made it harder and harder to edit out any “umms” or “ughhhs” as I progressed farther and farther into my process.

I wasn’t entirely convinced that I needed to add music to the background of my audio clip but after listening to a fellow group member’s rough draft for her audio assignment, I was very impressed with how she combined the music she selected and the interview clips for her audio story. I found a song on SoundCloud that was listed as a “Creative Common License” and decided to download the song and use it for the background of my audio story. The song I chose was called “30 Pieces” by Eyes Closed Audio. I chose this song because I liked how it had a quiet intro and the song reminded me of a sort of “pump-up” song… sort of like a great song to include with an inspirational message of some kind. I felt that the song really added a little something extra to my audio story and I’m really happy with how it turned out.

I found it really hard to keep my interview under 4 minutes. When I added the third interview, my audio story was over 5 minutes long so I ended up removing a section of my dad’s interview and I removed a section of Lindsay’s interview so that I could at least get my audio story to 4 minutes and 30 seconds.

References: http://soundcloud.com/eyes-closed-audio/30-pieces


Leave a comment